Slowly, this generation realizes that to enjoy this life, we need to watch over our health and go for what can make us feel good. That started some special groups that focus on on healthy diets which primarily are vegetable-based diets. They call themselves vegetarians and just recently, pescatarians have joined. There are different types of vegetarian but all of these groups are created based on their particular and special needs.
Transitioning from an old eating habit can be difficult at first. It is a big leap and “scary.” We take one change at a time until the change becomes “natural.”
A group called themselves as Vegetarian Society defines vegetarian as someone who prefers a diet that primarily consists of vegetables and fruits, grains, legumes and nuts, pulses, seeds, yeast, and other non-animal based foods like salt, and with- or without dairy products, eggs, and honey. They do not eat foods with or have been produced or created “from any part of the body of a living or dead animal,” including meat, fish, poultry, shellfish, and processed foods.
There are several kinds of vegetarians: vegans, ovo-vegetarians, lacto-vegetarians, and lacto-ovo vegetarians.
Vegans do not eat dairy products, eggs, and other animal-based food products. Ovo-vegetarians do not eat dairy food products but eggs. While lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but avoid eggs, the lacto-ovo vegetarians eat eggs and dairy products.
Some individuals choose to be vegetarian because of some advocacy on intensive farming of hens, and some for religious reasons. Jains are lacto-vegetarians or vegans but Buddhists and Hindus prefer vegetarian diet.
Try making this delicious vegetarian sushi recipe.
Vegans choose not to eat foods that come from animals, dairy products and eggs. Their diet are plant-based foods like vegetables and fruits, grains, and nuts. Aside from health benefits that they can get from eating plant-based meals, they also think of the impact of the animal products to our health and to the environment.
If you are planning to choose vegan, try combining more legumes and beans, whole grains, and seeds and nuts into your meals. You have to know how they are stored, cooked, and prepared. You may also begin gathering and experimenting with vegan recipes that may attract you. Substitute milk with non-dairy foods like soy and almond.
Since vegetarians and vegans do not eat meat, fish, and seafood, they may look for substitutes for these foods. They may be lacking in protein and iron but there are non-animal based where vegetarians can get these nutrients.
Try this easy Vegan Sushi recipe.
Pescatarians eat fish and seafood but not meat from land animals such as pork, beef, turkey, and chicken. Basically they avoid these foods because they want to eliminate saturated fats in the diet. Aside from fish, shrimps, seafood, and other shellfishes, they eat vegetables and fruits, grains, beans, and nuts. Several pescatarians avoid eggs or dairy.
If you are thinking of following the lifestyle of pescatarians, you should consult your doctor to make certain that you are not allergic to any of the fish and seafood. You should inform your family and friends, about the diet, the benefits you can get from the diet, and how safe the diet is. Our family and friends are our great support groups and at times, we will be sharing meals with them. Let them know that you are into fish-and-seafood diet, others call it as seafood diet.
Well, if you live alone, inspect your fridge, cupboards and pantry and remove foods that has meat as their ingredients. Check labels of meat-based food products like gravy, canned soup, frozen meals, broth, and the like. Avoid any form of yogurt, butter, cheese, milk, cream and the likes. Learn more about pescatarian lifestyle with this article.
You will love this low-carb tuna tataki rolls!